Skip to content

Jordbaer syletetoey

12/06/2008

I have spent a year studying Norwegian in Norway, actually paa Birkeland. It’s a small village in Southern Norway and I can’t say that I had the time of my life there, but I’ve learned a lot of new things and most importantly met some really nice people and made friends with them.

So when I think of Norway, I usually think about my Japanese roommate, Chie who is a wonderful person and I admire her for her courage and determindness.  Then I also think about Celia, my classmate from Bolivia, who is so different from Chie (and from myself), but holds a very special place in my heart as well.

Then I think of things truly Norwegian – besides Norwegian pullovers (norsk genser), beautifuly rough Norwegian nature, high prices and candles, jordbaer syletetoey og brun ost are on my mind. This is what I’ve had for breakfast so many times during my stay in Norway and every time I go back I want to have some more of it. Delicious combination of traditional Norwegian brown cheese with strawbery jam on broedskive (a piece of bread).  

As this is the season of strawberies we have decided to make some strawbery jam  to enjoy it in the months to come. No brun ost to combine with it, unfortunately.

phases of strawberries

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 16/06/2008 01:48

    Hei, i miss you a lot. Don’t forget slices of banana on jam & brown cheese ;-) I recognize the shape of that bottle for your jam, maybe? Now mine is filled with ginger and honey in my small kitchen.

Trackbacks

  1. Complementary « grasswire

Leave a Reply

