Skip to content

Where does yarn come from?

21/10/2008

One week ago we returned from our short trip to Bosnia. As I already mentioned in some of my previous posts I love goig there because I can actually buy some good quality yarn for a good price.

As I spent quite some time as a child in Bosnia (actually, I lived there until I was 4 and later I spent months of summer holidays until the war) certain things were natural to me. For example – how the wool is spun into yarn and different uses for different types of wool.
Now, when I look at all the industrial products around and also on the beautifull yarns many knitters and spinners make, I realize, how basic these uses were. And actually that the yarn obtained /spun from Bosnian sheep is very scratchy, stiff and not gentle at all.

Our neighbour came to visit and she told me that local business of cleaning and spinning the wool has araisen again, so she would be taking her wool to that place. (It is still common for locals to have at least couple of sheep  on their “farm”, so the wool is a necessary by-product.). She doesn’t know what to do with it anyaway and she likes to knit, so maybe she will make some socks for her family. They say that wool is good for healty feet, she was explaing to me.
To this my mother replied that we have sacks of wool up in the attic and  if she would take our wool with hers and have the yar made for us as well.

We checked the wool and here’s an image of something I haven’t seen in a very very long time – a pile of yellowish-white unprocessed wool.

We spread the wool to "breahe" in the air and sun

We spread the wool on the grass to "breathe and sunbathe"

Our neighbour said she has some of yarn from her last seasons wool in her house and if I wanted that she would bring me some to see what the end product looked like. Of course I said yes. So, the day before we drove home, she brought this to me:

Yarn and a 'pattern'

Yarn and a "pattern"

(I am sorry the picture is a bit lousy, I hope to replace it with a better one soon).

She also knit a small pattern for me, because I mentioned I liked her vest and she said she was happy to meet a proper young knitter. To me, this was a nice compliment and true “nature of knitting” experience.

I am getting the yarn probably in May 2009 (I don’t think we’ll be travelling to Bosnia any sooner than that). I still have no ideas, what I will make out of this stiff yarn – maybe those gloves used in the shower as scrubbers? ;)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 22/10/2008 14:38

    Hello, it’s the first time I visit your blog and I really had a good time reading your post, so I thing that there will be others.

    I’m sure you will be able to find a nice project for all that yarn. Maybe it won’t be as industrial yarn, but it will have something special…it comes from your home!

  2. 23/10/2008 02:04

    It sounds like the sort of wool that carpets are made of. Perhaps you can make a hand hooked rug.

    While you’re at it, have you thought about using natural locally available dyes?

    I’ve always thought that products that are an expression of the locally available molecules are so interesting.

    A rug made from by a local person (who eats locally grown food) from wool from sheep that eat the grass which has re-arranged the molecules in the soil into themselves. An expression of the very earth from that area itself!

  3. 02/11/2008 22:03

    Razzbufnik:
    Thanks a lot for this great idea! I wanted to try my hand at dying with herbs and this might be a very good yarn to try to do that. I am so gonna do that next summer :) The woman also promised to bring me some wool from black sheep, so I have to find an interesting, yet simple, pattern to make a rug.

    Nutsue:
    Wellcome! Hope to see you around here again :)

  4. 07/02/2011 09:57

    Are already surfing online in excess of three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough in my situation. I think, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be considerably more useful than in the past.

Leave a Reply

