Skip to content

Making cookies

27/12/2008

There wasn’t much knitting done in this house lately. Around Christmas I usually get busy with cleaning the house and baking cookies. There’s one type of cookies that my husband’s mother traditionally makes and they are a tradition in our house too. We always make them and than we also try some other recipes.

But what I really wanted to share with you was a photo of our cookie box which, I am sure some of my readers will recoginize. I am also sure we all share the same feelings about these particular boxes, or at least, about this kind of relics of our common past. I don’t know how old this box really is, it must be at least 20 years of age, it was made and bought in Yugoslavia, a country that does not exist any more.

What I feel is so special about it is that it was filled with sweets back than and that’s what we use it for nowdays as well, fullfilling it’s main purpose. Even though we live in a totally different world with many different values, the sweet message of the “Yu cookies” is still here, filling our new years expectations with new wishes and desires.  And, you know, some of us still share those old ‘Yu values’ or maybe it was ‘Yu dreams’?

Yu cookies

Yu cookies

Contents of Yu cookies, today

Contents of Yu cookies, today

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 29/12/2008 08:05

    What a photo! You pushed me into a bout of nostalgia :) I haven’t seen one of these for ages. They don’t make them any more, that’s for sure. Although, I read a while ago that there are still some 200 companies with ‘yu’ or ‘yugo’ prefix.

  2. 01/01/2009 02:36

    I don’t know those cookies but last year I bought some yarn on an online Polish auction that had labels “Made in Yugoslavia”!… Imagine how old the yarn was!… But in a very good condition and quality, I must admit, I made my Tangled Yoke Cardigan out of it. *^v^*

Leave a Reply

