Skip to content

Making RIČET

27/12/2008

I just made ‘ričet’ two days ago, so here’s an ad hoc recipe:

Soak overnight about 1 cup (2,5 dcl) of dried beans (kidney beans? – I use this type) and 3/4 cup barley.

Chop one middle sized onion (cut in cubes) and 2-3 carrots (about 250 gramms, I suppose, cubes or disks will be fine) – fry these two together on hot oil for a couple of minutes.

Boil the beans in some water, drain them and add to the softened onion and carrots. Than add barley, add water (I’d say approximately 1 liter)), 2 bay leaves, 2 cloves of garlic, one – two medimum sized whole tomatoes (or 2 spoons of tomato paste), couple of black pepper corns, and I also added one stalk of parsley.
After it boils cook on low heat for about 45 minutes.

Than add some smoked meat – we usually put some good smoked sausages, but I guess ham or similar smoked ‘heavy’ meat would also do – you could add ham at the same time as beans, but sausages need a little less cooking. Simmer for about another hour, hour and a half.

This dish gets better after reheated two to three times, and the bigger qounatity you make, the better it tastes (at least that’s what people here say). I guess there are several different recipes about how to prepare this, and I really made it for the second time in my life, but it was good and tasty just as in the mountin cottage. :)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 27/12/2008 23:39

    Thanks for putting that recipe up. It sounds delicious and I’m going to make it when the weather gets a bit colder.

  2. 29/12/2008 08:01

    Thanks for this, I wondered what it tasted like and now it seems a little clearer. I’m definitely going to try it!

  3. 02/04/2009 09:33

    I made the recipe today and it was delicious!

    • 06/04/2009 10:25

      Glad you liked it :) Here is almost spring, so I will not be making it until autumn, again. To me it’s such a autumn/winter dish.

Leave a Reply

