Skip to content

Holidays – finitto

07/01/2009

Today, officially, all the winter holidays which we celebrate are finished. We’ve just came home from visiting my mother, whom we visit for Orthodox Christmas and this is the last holiday which we celebrate at the end of the year.

We have ‘dismantled’ the Christmas tree two days ago (I don’t know which word would be proper to use, maybe ‘put down’?) and this year it was special because we set it up before Christmas, one thing we did for the first time – usually we’d get it just before New Year. In our home we celebrate two Christmas, since my family is Orthodox and Grasswire’s is Catholic. To us this is practical, because we can visit  both of our parents for Christmas and make them happy and nobody is disappointed because they’ll be alone for Christmas. We celebrate New Year on our own (i.e. without our parents ;)).

Tonight I am glad in a way and sad in a way.

Glad that the craze is over – each year we have to visit many friends and families and since Tamara was born on New Years Eve you should also add cake baking and some more extra small friends visiting our home.  I think this year was especially crowded – and in the end I felt like I didn’t really have a chance to take time and talk to everyone that I wanted to.  And at a certain point cake baking felt just like another obligation, something that has to be done and done in time (! i.e. one evening before the guests arrive).

I did do some knitting, however – I can see the end of the Cobblestone and I already have plans for a new project. I’ll make a Happy Hen Sweater (Ravelry link) for Tamara. I’d also like to make something for myself, maybe a scarf – but even though I have seen so many fantastic projects on Ravelry, somehow I cannot make up my mind for anything.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 08/01/2009 08:47

    We also celebrate both Christmases and we still haven’t dismantled the tree! We decided to keep it for a few more days still. It really does feel as if we are putting it down, like a sick animal, although it’s probably just laziness on our part :). The end of the holiday season is so sad and prosaic. Even though I don’t start work for a few more days, I already feel that Monday morning dullness creeping in. But, on the bright side, Merry Christmas again! I like the Happy Hen Sweater a lot and I’m sure it’ll look great on Tamara. That particular shade of green is one of my favourite colours. Looking forward to you starting it :)

  2. 08/01/2009 20:40

    Lepo mi je bilo za praznike, ali moram da priznam da volim što se završavaju. Doduše ostaje nam još i slava, ali to je skoro dve nedelje pauze. Jedva čekam da vidim kako će izgledati džemper.

  3. 12/01/2009 12:39

    Isn’t it strange that we wait so much for Christmas and New Year’s Day and when they come they pass so quickly. Time flies, whoa! *^v^*

Leave a Reply

