Skip to content

Silly me

10/01/2009

You know when I wrote in my previous post that I couldn’t make up my mind to knit something for myself?

Well, I went through my Ravelry favourites, checked my stash and found out I really need some inspiration, because I am not buying new yarn anytime soon and there’s planty of it in the house but… it doesn’t match with my current project desires. Which are – to be honest either not very wearable or not apropriate for me (for the reason of having too much weight on my bones).

Since everyone in the blogland is posting pictures of the projects they are going to make, or they find them inspiring, I have decided to do the same.
Probably from last summer I’ve been thinking about making Vapour – I think I have perfect cotton for this pattern and my husband even ordered Rowan 32 on E-bay so that I even have a pattern. But, really, how could I knit a sleeveless summer top in the middle of January?
On the other hand there’s a perfectly cute pattern – again by Kim Hargreaves – Little trees (from the same magazine) – which falls into the category – cute but very seldomly wearable. There are 9 projects on Ravelry, those who were knit with the tree pattern were made for children and those who were knit without the trees – we’ll they are just oridinary cardigans, aren’t they? Anyway here’s a pick:

Cute, huh?

Cute, huh?

And than there is Raglan Wrap (Ravelry link) – totally lovely and wearable, but to obtain the pattern I should order a book, which I am not willing to do:

Raglan Wrap

Raglan Wrap

Also, I am slightly in love with Petal (=Ravelry link):

Petal

Petal (I gues could be worn even though I am NOT pregnant)

 And to end the list I should mention Talia from one of the last years Knitty editions:

Talia

Talia

I have finished Cobblestone – have not had the time to take pictures of it today.  I think it looks great and I hope to take photos and post about it tomorrow.

Until than I will just dream about potential projects looking for a perfect one. Have a lovely weekend.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/01/2009 23:07

    Ah, the sweet torture of choosing! If I were to choose, I’d go for something with long sleeves or the vest at the end. I’ve never had a cardigan with short sleeves. To me, it’s a little like a sleeveless polo neck, a garment with a split personality disorder. If you wear it in the summer, you’re too hot with a polo neck around your neck, in the winter you’re too cold without sleeves. Somehow, the weather is never quite right for it. I’m not saying that I don’t like the two short-sleeved cardis you chose. On the contrary, I think they look really smart, especially the first one. It’s just that I can’t see myself in them.

    Now, this was a comletely irrelevant comment on my part, but your post was so inspiring I couldn’t resist :)

  2. 12/01/2009 12:37

    I like the Raglan Wrap, too, but it’s true – I wouldn’t buy a book for one project.

  3. 13/01/2009 21:13

    love the raglan wrap, but agree with you about the book…
    the colours is exquisite!
    Feel a lot like you at the moment, started a cardi with some yarn that was given to me, not sure about it- might frogg it, but dont know what else to do…
    keep us in the loop about your choices :D

Leave a Reply

