Skip to content

What’s that you’re knitting?

16/02/2009

First of all, thank you for all the sweet comments on Vapour. I promise I’ll take a photo of me wearing it and post it here – soon! Now, we have finally received some sunshine and this is good news for a photo session ;)

I want to start another knitting project. You remember I said I’d knit Happy Hen Sweater for Tamara? I still like that pattern and I so much want to knit it, but… I checked her clothes and she’s got so many sweaters, cardigans and stuff she really doesn’t need another one at least until next autumn. Everybody is buying her clothes – my mum, sister, aunt, friends and relatives… A very good friend of mine said to me that ‘… it can happen that your child is rearly dressed the way YOU like it…’ and now I see what an excellent point she made. Some of the clothes we get I like, some not so much – but what am I supposed to do – throw them away just so I can buy new? That, surely I am not going to do.

So today I wanted to start a new project. No idea what it’d be. I just wanted to cast on something. So, I checked my stash, took out varigated pink St.George and cast on.

And than I got a flashback of -not so few- conversations with my mother. They went something like this:

“Ohhh, that’s nice! What is it?”

“Uhhhmmmm. I don’t know. Maybe it’ll be a vest.”

“I like the color. Whom are you kniting it for?”

“Uhmmmm. I don’t know… It looks to small for me. Maybe for your sister?”

“Does she like it?”

“Stop being so annoying. I’m just knitting.”

It all makes sense now. Sometimes. ;)

Women - viscious circle

Women - viscious circle

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 17/02/2009 07:49

    I have this feeling of having to cast on something urgently quite often. To make matters worse, it also often grows into a large project. One that hasn’t been thought through properly. And all that just because I couldn’t wait till the morning.

  2. 17/02/2009 07:54

    Kad mi dodje da pletem, a ne znam šta, ja lepo pravim uzorke. Različite vunice, na različitim iglama, pa posle ne moram da radim taj užasno dosadan posao.(Sve uzorke ostavim, pa možda od toga i nešto ispadne.)

Leave a Reply

