Skip to content

Crochet and me

20/03/2009

Last year I bought this lovely green and brown cotton and my idea was to make a scarf with it. A spring / summer scarf.

In lack of any knitting ideas I turned to Vogue – crochet on the go. I like patterns in this book, and actually, I bought this yarn thinking it would be a nice combination for Daisy Chain Scarf (Ravelry link). But than I was having second thoughts… Would this really be a good springy type of a pattern? Hmmmmm…. Maybe I’d try Flower Motif Scarf   (Ravelry link) – it looks more airy and the combination of green and brown would look great!

So, I start. Find the hook. Get to the instructions.

Oooohhh, ooohhhh… I don’t get any of these. There are no charts and the language is … well, not clear to me.

Maybe I’d try a simpler pattern. Daisy chain looks a bit simpler. And people on Ravelry said it was easy once you get the hold of the pattern…

Let’s just say – I waisted two evenings just to find out that I have to start with something simpler. Or maybe really carefully read the ‘learn how to crochet’  chapter of the book…

So, now, I knit cupcakes.  I can actually understand the instructions. They’re fun and easy to make. And I hope they’ll make somebody happy . :)

Yummy!

Yummy!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 21/03/2009 14:58

    Well, a cupcake scarf would be nice!!! :)))))

    Oh, I know, the good thing about crochet is that one can easily unravel a pattern just by looking at the picture, I lose nerves each time I try to read the instructions. The terms make no sense to me at all plus, the differences between the US and the European terms make me feel dizzy in a split of a second! :)))
    It is, indeed, one of the most basic circular patterns out there, you just had no luck with the instructions, that’s all!
    If you need help with “translating” them in the future- you know where to find me! ;-)

  2. 22/03/2009 03:01

    Hahaha! That looks fantastic! Great job!

    I’ll be sure to show Short Stack the fruit of your efforts. He’ll get a kick out of them too. :-)

    -Turkish Prawn

  3. 23/03/2009 09:26

    But the cupcake is lovely, don’t be sorry. I haven’t had a look at the instructions but feel free to ask me about anything that you don’t understand – I’ll be happy to help :)))

  4. Dom permalink
    24/03/2009 08:39

    Looks yummy!

  5. 27/03/2009 09:40

    I just love Cupcakes, but never had the opportunity to make them. Well..maybe in the future…These would make great toys for kids!

  6. magpie permalink
    04/04/2009 13:20

    Good enough to eat ! But is the cupcake knitted, or crocheted? I only crochet; so if the latter, would you kindly post the ‘recipe’ (with all due credit of course)?

    • 06/04/2009 10:24

      Hi, sorry, but its knitted. On Ravelry I think I saw a couple of crochet patterns for cupcakes, so you might want to try searching there.

  7. 10/04/2009 13:25

    Your cupcake is so cute! ^^ I can’t crochet without the chart either, I gave up on a beautiful butterfly shawl fron Knit 1 because it had no chart…

Trackbacks

  1. Crochet and me « Cashmere Cafe | Crochet -Simple

Leave a Reply

