Skip to content

World champions

17/04/2011

Slovenians are world champions in complaining. We have also won other worldchampionships – like skiing, probably, but I am not very good at sports and that’s not actually what I wanted to share with you.

The other day I met with a friend in front of the kindergarten and we had a nice chat for about 20 minutes. After I thought of it in the retrospecitve, I realized that our conversation was just filled with complaints. Even though we smiled and joked and giggled all the time, the undertone of the conversation was negative. I have been observing this phenomena for quite some time now – even though you see people engaged in a (seemingly) positive conversation, if you listen to them, you can usually hear complaints, complaints, and than some more complaints.

So, whenever I want to complain (sometimes even on this blog!) I cheer myself to sharing something nice with you. Last week, for example, was the first time to cycle to work. It felt great, spring is here and Katarina was behind my back. Complaining, for some time, bet eventually she stopped :)

Urban bike

I've got to take a picture of my bike, someday. This is just a bike from a street in Hamburg - not even remininiscent of my bike. Photo: Grasswire.

 
One Comment leave one →
  1. 18/04/2011 07:55

    It’s the same here. Complaining is the way of life in this part of the world. I’ve been observing the same phenomenon for a long time too. If you don’t complain, people think there’s something wrong with you. If someone asks you how you are, the expected answer is negative. If you say you’re great, they’ll eye you suspiciosly!

Leave a Reply

