Skip to content

Elder…

22/05/2011

spring is finally here. I have been busy lately, with knitting, sewing, taking care of my girls and simply trying to enjoy the nice weather. With two wirlwinds in the house I can get so distracted by them and everyday obligations that I don’t even notice a new wrinkle on my forehead. Ahhhh…

We have a nice view over an elder tree / bush and guess what we’ve had for dessert today? Elder cake.  Who cares about wrinkles?

Elder in our view, elder on our plate

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 22/05/2011 22:09

    Mmmm, that looks delicious! Could you tell me how you make the elder cake? Elder is one of my favorite summer tastes and I love finding new ways to use it. :)

    Very interesting blog, by the way – have been lurking for a while now. Greets from Ljubljana ;)

    • 23/05/2011 21:29

      Thanks for the sweet comment :) The recipe is very simple:
      120 g butter
      120 g sugar
      3 eggs
      50g shredded coconut
      100 g white flour
      100 g elder floweretes

      Beat yolks, butter and half of the sugar until creamy. In another bowl beat 3 egg-whites with remaining half of sugar until firm. Carefully add (witha wooden spoon) snow-whites to the yolk mixture. Than add flower, coconut and elder flowers. Add cinnamon and or lemon zest to make it more delicous (I actually didn’t do that). Bake for 20 minutes on 180 degrees. You’ll need a 20x 30 cm baking tray ;)
      Enjoy! I’ll make it again, soon. And personally, I’d put a little less sugar, it was a bit too sweet for my taste.

Leave a Reply

